Compare
An honest side-by-side of TAPPI and Square Loyalty: what each costs, what goes in the Wallet, and who each one suits.
A sample card, drawn exactly like the real one. Yours carries your logo and your colour.
| Feature | TAPPI | Square Loyalty |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | From £19 / €19 a month for stamp and points cards; every card type from £39 / €39 a month | From £25 a month per location in the UK; from €40 + VAT in Spain |
| How it is priced | Per location: the plan price covers the first location, each extra one is £10 / €10 a month. No per-card or per-customer fees. | Per location, priced by that month’s loyalty visits (a sign-up, a point earned or a reward redeemed): up to 500, up to 1,500 and more. UK £25 / £45 / £65; Spain €40 / €65 / €100 + VAT. In the US, loyalty comes with the Square Plus plan. |
| Card in Apple Wallet | Yes | Yes |
| Card in Google Wallet | Yes | No |
| Customer must install an app | No | No |
| Card types | Stamp card, Points, Tiers, Prepaid balance, Membership, Multipass, Coupon | Points, Digital punch card, Tiers |
| Push messages to the card | Yes | Not stated |
| Messages when a customer is nearby | Yes | Not stated |
| Free trial | 14 days, no card needed | 30 days |
| Till (POS) and other integrations | Staff scan the card on any phone or laptop; till connectors are not live yet. Public API and webhooks on Scale. | Built into Square Point of Sale, Square Online and Square Invoices |
| Languages | English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Arabic | Not stated |
Square Loyalty: read on its own website on 2026-11-05. “Not stated” means the site did not say.
Square Loyalty is the points programme built into Square, the payments and till company. Customers join by typing their phone number at checkout and earn points per visit, per amount spent or per item. It is sold to businesses that take payments with Square, in countries including the US, the UK, Ireland and Spain.
TAPPI is a loyalty platform for independent local businesses. You design a stamp, points, tier, prepaid, membership, multi-visit or coupon card; customers add it to Apple Wallet or Google Wallet by scanning your QR code, and staff scan it at the till.
Square Loyalty runs inside Square: points are earned on sales taken through Square Point of Sale, Square Online or Square Invoices. TAPPI does not ask you to change how you take payments. Staff scan the customer’s Wallet card on any phone or laptop, whatever till you use.
Square’s help centre says its loyalty pass is for Apple Wallet only; other customers follow their points through a link sent by text. A TAPPI card goes into Apple Wallet or Google Wallet from one scan of your QR code.
Square charges each location more as its loyalty visits grow: in the UK, £25 a month up to 500 visits and £65 past 1,500. TAPPI charges per location, with unlimited cards and customers.
Square runs a points programme, earned per visit, per amount spent or per item, with tiers. TAPPI also runs a prepaid balance, memberships with a monthly fee and multi-visit passes, paid into your own Stripe account, plus coupons.
You already take payments with Square and want loyalty in the same till and dashboard, with customers earning by giving their phone number at checkout.
You want a longer free trial: Square gives 30 days.
Everything about Square Loyalty on this page was read on its own website on 2026-11-05: https://squareup.com/gb/en/software/loyalty, https://squareup.com/es/es/software/loyalty, https://squareup.com/ie/en/software/loyalty, https://squareup.com/us/en/software/loyalty, https://squareup.com/us/en/pricing, https://squareup.com/help/us/en/article/5347-how-customers-redeem-their-rewards, https://squareup.com/help/us/en/article/6469-enroll-to-square-loyalty-using-square-point-of-sale. “Not stated” means the site did not say. Prices change, so check their pricing page before you decide. Spotted something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.
Questions
Start today
Six questions, no account, and your card goes straight to your phone.